Southend Election Results

Polling Station SignThanks to one of our regulars for pointing out that we’ve not posted a summary of the results of the 2010 elections. We’re sure you know the results, but a recap never hurts.

In the General Election:

  • Southend West: 46% of votes to Conservative. David Amess MP remains
  • Rochford and Southend East: 47% of votes to Conservative. James Duddridge MP remains

In the local elections:

Conservatives increased their seats by 2, and control Southend Borough Council

  • Conservative: Belfairs, Chalkwell, Eastwood Park, Kursaal, Milton, Shoeburyness, Southchurch, St Lukes, West Leigh, West Shoebury
  • Liberal Democrats: Blenheim Park, Leigh, Prittlewell, St Laurence, Westborough
  • Labour: Victoria
  • Independent: Thorpe

Update: On the 13th of May 2010, councillor Ann Holland (Conservative) formally became the new Southend Mayor, taking over from Lib Dem Brian Smith.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *